RSS 2014 Awards ceremony

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in Conference Blog

The RSS Awards ceremony, held on the Tuesday 2 September on the evening of the first day of conference, celebrated achievement in both statistics as a discipline and in its application. Here is the video footage from the ceremony:

Here are some photos of the winners receiving their respective awards:

Bradley Efron

Bradley Efron giving a speech having received his Guy medal in gold. 'It's great to get an award that's older than oneself', he joked.

Guy medallists

The 2014 Guy medallists, all together: Jianqing Fan (silver) Brad Efron (gold) and Ming Yuan (bronze).

Jenny Lannon receiving the RSS Chambers Medal for her instrumental role in the formation and establishment of the Society's Young Statisticians' Section.

James Ball Jan Piotrowski

The Guardian's James Ball and The Economist's James Fransham (on behalf of Jan Piotrowski), joint winners of the Statistical Excellence in Journalism 2014 award - Print category, with Jenny Freeman and John Pullinger.

BBC News The Infinite Monkey Cage

BBC News team - winners of the Statistical Excellence in Journalism 2014 Broadcast category for '100 Women: What chance does a young girl have?', and Deborah Cohen, collecting on behalf of Radio Four's Infinite Monkey Cage, highly commended in the Broadcast category. Radio Four's More or Less programme was also highly commended in this category.

Christopher Cook, FT

Chris Cook picking up an award for a two-year online project featured in the Financial Times, which that explored social mobility in education achievement.

Justice Data Lab team National Energy Efficiency Data Team, DECC

The Justice Data Lab Team at the Ministry of Justice, and the National Energy Effiency Data Team at DECC, joint winners of the Statistical Excellence in Official Statistics award 2014. Presented by Andrew Dilnot and John Pullinger.

The Children and Families Statistics team in the Scottish Government receiving the Statistical Excellence in Official Statistics for Most Improved Statistical Release.

Finally, Robert Cuffe of PSI announced Craig Mallinckrodt (pictured left) of Eli Lilly & Company the winner of the Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry Award. Unfortunately Craig was unable to attend to receive his award.




RSS Excellence Awards

Join the RSS

Join the RSS

Become part of an organisation which works to advance statistics and support statisticians

Copyright 2019 Royal Statistical Society. All Rights Reserved.
12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX. UK registered charity in England and Wales. No.306096

Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS feed RSS feed RSS newsletter

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and Terms of Use.