The RSS honours and awards ceremony: in pictures

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in Conference Blog







Sir Adrian Smith FRS was presented with his Guy Medal in Gold for his work in Bayesian statistics from RSS president Professor Peter Diggle.

Professor Noel Cressie was presented with the second Barnett Award for environmental statistics.


The inaugural Mardia Interdisciplinary Workshop Prize winner is Dr Fiona Underwood, who will be running workshops on poverty alleviation. She received her award from Kanti Mardia himself.


Three RSS Honorary fellowships, aimed at individuals of great eminence in areas related to statistics, were awarded this year. The first was presented to Sir Tony Atkinson, for his work in social economics. Our second Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Dr John Goldthorpe, who was unable to attend that evening.


The third Honorary Fellowship was presented to Sir Michael Marmot, who said he was honoured to receive his award at the same time as Sir Tony, and emphasised the importance of evidence in 'post-fact politics'.

RSS Conference RSS Honours

Join the RSS

Join the RSS

Become part of an organisation which works to advance statistics and support statisticians

Copyright 2019 Royal Statistical Society. All Rights Reserved.
12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX. UK registered charity in England and Wales. No.306096

Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS feed RSS feed RSS newsletter

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and Terms of Use.