Nominations sought for the LMS 2015 prizes

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in Latest call-outs to members

The London Mathematical Society welcomes nominations for the 2015 prizes, to recognise and celebrate achievements in and contributions to mathematics. The prizes for 2015 are as follows:

  • The Polya Prize - recognising contribution to mathematics within the UK
  • The Senior Whitehead Prize - influence on or service to mathematics
  • The Naylor Prize and Lectureship - for contributions to applied mathematics
  • The Berwick Prize - for outstanding research published by the LMS in the last eight years
  • The Whitehead Prizes - for work in and influence on mathematics.

This year also includes two new prizes:

  • The Shephard Prize - for contributions to mathematics with a strong intuitive component which can be explained to those with little or no knowledge of university mathematics
  • The Anne Bennett Prize - for work inspiring women mathematicians

Awarded to mark the LMS 150th anniversary:

  • The Hirst Prize and lectureship for the History of Mathematics
  • The Prize for Communication of Mathematics

Further details of the prizes and nomination forms are available on the LMS website. The prizes committee is keen to increase the number of nominations it receives, particularly for women. The closing date for nominations is 20 January 2015.


London Mathematical Society

Join the RSS

Join the RSS

Become part of an organisation which works to advance statistics and support statisticians

Copyright 2019 Royal Statistical Society. All Rights Reserved.
12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX. UK registered charity in England and Wales. No.306096

Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS feed RSS feed RSS newsletter

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and Terms of Use.