Society announces honours for 2014

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in News

Earlier this year, Council considered recommendations from the Society's Honours Committee for the award of medals and prizes in 2014. The recipients, and their respective citations, are listed below. The awards will be presented at the awards ceremony which this year is being held at the Society’s annual conference in Sheffield on Tuesday 2 September. 

Guy Medal in Gold

'The Guy Medal in Gold is awarded to Professor Bradley Efron in recognition of his hugely influential contributions to both theoretical and applied statistics. He has made seminal contributions to many areas of statistics, including empirical Bayes analysis, the analysis of survival data, applications of differential geometry to statistical theory, and analysis of multiple testing problems in inference for gene expression data. He is best known for his introduction of the bootstrap method of statistical inference. His work is characterised by its depth, simplicity of presentation, geometric insights and by a desire to understand statistical procedures from both frequentist and Bayesian perspectives.'

Guy Medal in Silver

‘The Guy Medal in Silver is awarded to Jianqing Fan for his seminal papers 'Sure independence screening for ultra-high dimensional feature space' and 'Large covariance estimation by thresholding principal orthogonal complements', read to the Society in 2008 and 2013 respectively, his path-breaking research in high-dimensional statistical learning and inferences, important contributions to non-parametric and semi-parametric statistics and his service to the international statistical community.'

Guy Medal in Bronze

'The Guy Medal in Bronze is awarded to Professor Ming Yuan for his theoretical and methodological contributions to high-dimensional statistical inference, machine learning, and nonparametric and semiparametric estimation problems. These include his paper on the group Lasso (`Model selection and estimation in regression with grouped variables', with Y Lin, J. R. Statist. Soc B (2006), 68, 49-67) and two further papers in series B of the Society's journal in 2007.'

Chambers Medal

‘The Chambers Medal is awarded to Jenny Lannon for her instrumental role in the formation and establishment of the Young Statisticians' Section, and her leadership as its founding chair. Since its creation in 2009, the section has greatly enhanced the RSS by encouraging and enabling more statisticians in the early years of their careers to become engaged with the Society.’

RSS Excellence Awards

Join the RSS

Join the RSS

Become part of an organisation which works to advance statistics and support statisticians

Copyright 2019 Royal Statistical Society. All Rights Reserved.
12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX. UK registered charity in England and Wales. No.306096

Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS feed RSS feed RSS newsletter

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and Terms of Use.