RSS announces honours for 2016

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in News

The Royal Statistical Society is pleased to announce the recipients of its honours for 2016. The recipients, along with their citations, are as follows:

The Guy Medal in Gold is awarded to Sir Adrian Smith (pictured left) for sustained excellence in the development of Bayesian statistical methodology and its application.

Sir Adrian's work has been critical to the transformation of Bayesian thinking from philosophical debate to practical methodology, including path-breaking work on the now ubiquitous use of Monte Carlo methods for conducting inference in realistically complex models. He played an instrumental role in broadening the focus of the Society from the statistical community to the impact that the discipline of statistics has on modern society, an approach that he continued within the Civil Service on leaving academia.

The Guy Medal in Silver is awarded to Nancy Reid (pictured right) for her path-breaking paper 'Parameter Orthogonality and Approximate Conditional Inference', written jointly with Sir David Cox, which is one of the most highly cited and influential papers in the society's journals within the last 30 years.The award also recognises Nancy Reid's many other important contributions to statistical theory and methodology, including composite likelihood methods, design of experiments, survival analysis and saddle point approximations; and her outstanding leadership of, and service to, the statistical research community.  

The Barnett Award is made to Noel Cressie. In addition to advancing fundamental methodology, his extensive publication list includes applications of statistical methods to address a diverse array of issues in the environmental sciences.  His many publications include a wide range of environmental-science applications, in addition to fundamental methodology. His authoritative book 'Statistics for Spatial Data', published in 1991, is very widely cited by researchers in environmental science and many other disciplines beyond statistics. 

Honorary Fellowship of the Society is awarded to Sir Tony Atkinson for his path-breaking work in social economics, in particular the measurement of inequality and its wider implications for society as a whole. Sir Tony's research is rooted in important substantive questions, and informed by the rigorous application of statistical method to extensive sources of data.

Honorary Fellowship of the Society is awarded to Sir Michael Marmot for his ground-breaking work in social epidemiology, in particular on the social determinants of health across the life-course, the need for 'proportionate universalism' in the actions to be taken so that the slope of disadvantage is made shallower, and associated performance monitoring. Sir Michael's  team proposed a practical framework for performance-monitoring of England's social determinants of health and of health inequalities.

Honorary Fellowship of the Society is awarded to John Goldthorpe for his pioneering work on inter-generational mobility among social classes, represented well by two highly influential collaborative books, 'Social Mobility and Class Structure in Modern Britain' (1980) and 'The Constant Flux' (1992). The Goldthorpe class schema, which defines social class in a sociologically coherent way based on employment relations, gave a clear conceptual basis for reform in the 1990s of the UK's official classification of occupations, resulting in the National Statistics Socio-economic Classification that has been in use since the 2001 UK Census.

RSS Honours

Join the RSS

Join the RSS

Become part of an organisation which works to advance statistics and support statisticians

Copyright 2019 Royal Statistical Society. All Rights Reserved.
12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX. UK registered charity in England and Wales. No.306096

Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS feed RSS feed RSS newsletter

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and Terms of Use.