ESRC sponsor RSS journalism awards

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in News

We are delighted to announce that the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) will be sponsoring our Statistical Excellence in Journalism Awards this year.

The awards, now in their 11th year, celebrate journalists' use of statistics to analyse and investigate the issues that affect society. Previous winners include high profile journalists such as Daniel Finkelstein (writing for The Times), Tim Harford (writing for the FT and for his Radio 4 programme More or Less), Chris Giles (for the FT). Matthew Parris (for The Times), Mark Easton (for the BBC) and Cathy Newman (for Channel 4).

This year, the awards will be judged in four categories: regional journalism data visualisation, investigative journalism and 'explaining the facts'.

Hetan Shah, RSS executive director, said: 'We’re really pleased to have ESRC sponsor this year’s journalism awards. These awards are all about celebrating journalists who use data to inform public debate, and given ESRC’s work in supporting social science research they are an excellent partner for the awards.'

Sarah Nichols, deputy head of communications at ESRC, said: ‘The ESRC is delighted to sponsor this year’s awards. Statistics have become a key feature of social science, and are applied across a range of disciplines including economics, psychology, political science, sociology and anthropology. Using sources such as surveys, censuses and administrative records, statisticians collect and analyse data to give us large-scale and small-scale impressions of our complex society – how journalists use these statistics can help build a clearer picture of where we are and where we’re going’.

An awards ceremony will take place on the evening of the 12 July at RSS HQ in London, introduced by current RSS president, Sir David Spiegelhalter.

Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) RSS Excellence Awards