Ian Diamond new chair of the Council for Mathematical Sciences

Written by Web News Editor on . Posted in News

Congratulations to RSS fellow Sir Ian Diamond, who has been announced the new chair of the Council for Mathematical Sciences (CMS) from September 2018.

The CMS is made up of five societies: the Royal Statistical Society, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA), the London Mathematical Society (LMS), the Edinburgh Mathematical Society and the Operational Research Society. It works to raise the voice of the mathematical sciences, including statistics, with government and research bodies.

Sir Ian is former chief executive of the Economic and Social Research Council and chair of the Research Council UK Executive Group as well as being a board member of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) – the new body that brings together the UK research councils. He has been principal and vice-chancellor of the University of Aberdeen since 2010.

Sir Ian will take over from former RSS president Sir Adrian Smith, who has held the role since 2013, during which time he published the important Smith review of mathematics education in England. In a statement (PDF), Sir Adrian said of his successor; 'He is exceptionally well qualified to ensure that the CMS continues to champion the health of the of UK’s mathematical sciences people pipeline and its contribution to national educational, social and economic challenges.’

RSS president, Sir David Spiegelhalter, said: 'I'm delighted that Sir Ian has accepted this role, as he will provide a strong voice in promoting the vital importance of mathematics and statistics in society'.

David Spiegelhalter Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) London Mathematical Society Council for Mathematical Sciences UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) Adrian Smith

Join the RSS

Join the RSS

Become part of an organisation which works to advance statistics and support statisticians

Copyright 2019 Royal Statistical Society. All Rights Reserved.
12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX. UK registered charity in England and Wales. No.306096

Twitter Facebook YouTube RSS feed RSS feed RSS newsletter

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies and Terms of Use.